Reintroducing the M270: 5 Things to Know About the Launcher

Reintroducing the M270: 5 Things to Know About the Launcher
September 14, 2021

Known as a legend in the field, Lockheed Martin is modernizing its M270 launcher system to protect soldiers with combat-proven reliability for decades to come.

The Multiple Launch Rocket System (MLRS) is a highly mobile automatic system that fires surface-to-surface rockets and missiles from the MLRS Family of Munitions (MFOM).

First introduced during Operation Desert Storm, Lockheed Martin is working with customers, including the United Kingdom and United States, to restore decommissioned M270 launchers to a zero-time condition with new 600 HP engines, new fire control system and an improved armored cab.

Enhancements will enable the MLRS to fire the newest next-generation munitions, including the Extended-Range Guided Multiple Launch Rocket System (ER GMLRS) and Precision Strike Missile (PrSM). Additionally, upgrades will improve crew and system survivability, and offer interoperability with partner nations as well as the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).

The M270 refurbishment is only one example of how Lockheed Martin is working with customers to extend the lifecycle and minimize the need for maintenance of our core products commonly operated in remote locations with limited crews.

Here are five things to know about the critical capability M270 provides to the United Kingdom:

1. The M270 launcher can fire 12 surface-to-surface Guided MLRS (GMLRS) or Extended-Range GMLRS (ER GMLRS) rockets, 4 PrSM or 2 Army Tactical Missile Systems (ATACMS) faster and farther than any of its predecessors.

2. MLRS is combat proven and exceeds system performance requirements.

3. The launcher’s three-man crew can deliver large volumes of fire quickly and then rapidly depart the firing area enhancing crew and platform survivability.

4. It is undergoing modernization efforts to ensure capability and support until 2050.

5. M270A1 is in service in more than 14 nations, including the United Kingdom, United States, South Korea, Italy, Germany and France.